Colour of Sound

Released 7 July 2023


Zoe Rahman - Colour of Sound

Gathering together an eight-piece band of outstanding musicians, Zoe Rahman has created The Colour Of Sound: the most ambitious, many-hued, uplifting large-ensemble music of her multi-award winning career.

Her choice of collaborators reflects her deep engagement with the diversity of contemporary Britain. Starting with the foundational rhythm team of explosive US native Gene Caldarazzo on drums and long-time scene stalwart Alec Dankworth on bass, she’s built up a frontline of players from across the generations of current UK players. Trumpeter Alex Ridout and trombonist Rosie Turton represent the new wave of young empowered female players: flautist Rowland Sutherland and Zoe’s brother Idris Rahman on saxes and clarinet are joined by guest trumpeter Byron Wallen to bring their wealth of diverse musical heritage, their gravitas as long-time scene leaders, and their undimming passion and commitment to the project. The music paints on a wide canvas in vibrant colours.

Colour Of Sound combines Zoe’s unique and powerful writing with thrilling arrangements and dynamic performances from the whole band to create an album of jazz at it’s highest level that still communicates its message directly to the listener. It’s a splash of colour and a bold statement beautifully realised that is Zoe Rahman’s most compelling work to date.

Releases July 7, 2023

Written, arranged and produced by Zoe Rahman
Recorded at Master Chord Studios
Engineered by Ronan Phelan, assisted by Michele Catri
Additional recording at Rokit Studios
Engineered, edited and co-produced by Idris Rahman
Mixed by Laurent Dupuy
Mastered by Caspar Sutton-Jones at Gearbox Records
Photos by Ilze Kitshoff
Make-up and hair by Nina Davis



Released 17 June 2016


Zoe Rahman - Dreamland

A joy to find Zoe fully in the spotlight, uninterrupted, on this dazzling solo session. A milestone
***** BBC Music Magazine

An exciting solo set, brilliantly performed and totally absorbing
**** The Observer

Always exciting, playful, muscular and a tiny bit unhinged, that’s what I love about Zoe Rahman
Jamie Cullum, BBC Radio 2

A powerful testament to this fine pianist’s authority
*** Guardian

Released June 17, 2016

Produced by Zoe Rahman and Idris Rahman
Recorded at The Church Studios
Engineered by Matt Wiggins
Mixed by Idris Rahman
Mastered by Don Grossinger
Cover photos by Yann Binet


Kindred Spirits

Released 23 January 2012


Zoe Rahman - Kindred Spirits

“….could well be seen in the future as one of the best British jazz albums of this period” Jazzwise****

“Holy soul food, Batman! It feels good to listen to a musician who plays from the heart….it all adds up to another bliss infusion” Chris May,

“a work of breathtaking musical imagination” Metro

“ a uniquely Rahmanesque modern jazz fusion that fascinates and fizzes with restless, inquisitive energy….It’s concentrated, serious fun” BBC Music Magazine ****

Musicians: Zoe Rahman (Piano/harmonium); Idris Rahman (clarinet/bass clarinet); Gene Calderazzo (drums); Oli Hayhurst (double bass); plus special guest Courtney Pine (alto flute).


Zoe Rahman Trio (Live)

Released 17 May 2009

Zoe Rahman Live with special guest Idris Rahman

wonderfully energetic and entertaining” Kieran Bohane, Irish Examiner

Another winner from the Rahman stable” Brian Priestley , Jazzwise

Hard swinging and outgoing, Live is an infectious goodtime album.” Chris May,

the recording is staggering….uplifting and majestic….great to see music of integrity still being made”. Snowboy, Blues and Soul Magazine

MUSICIANS: Gene Calderazzo, Drums; Oli Hayhurst, bass; Idris Rahman, clarinet.

Recorded at the Pizza Express, Dean Street, London, April 2007.

Where Rivers Meet

Released 22 September 2008

Zoe & Idris Rahman - Where Rivers Meet

Put simply, Where Rivers Meet is a classic, one of the best records of this or any year” 5-star review, Alan Brownlee, Manchester Evening News

Absolutely recommended5-star review, Roger Thomas, BBC Music Magazine

a rich new kind of Anglo-Asian music 5-star review, Birmingham Post

Where Rivers Meet is a collaboration with Zoe’s brother, clarinettist, Idris Rahman on some unique, jazz-inspired interpretations of Bengali music, including the songs of Rabindranath Tagore, Abbasuddin and Hemanta Kumar Mukherjee amongst others.

MUSICIANS INCLUDE: Idris Rahman – clarinet; Arnob – vocals; Gaurob – vocals; Kuljit Bhamra – percussion; Gene Calderazzo – drums; Oli Hayhurst – bass; Samy Bishai – violin.

Melting Pot

Released 1 July 2006

Zoe Rahman - Melting Pot

Shortlisted for the NATIONWIDE MERCURY PRIZE 2006

Jazz Album of the Year Award winner at the 2006 Parliamentary Jazz Awards.

MUSICIANS INCLUDE: Gene Calderazzo, drums; Oli Hayhurst, bass; Pat Illingworth, Drums; Jeremy Brown, bass; Idris Rahman, clarinet; Adriano Itauna, percussion.

The Cynic

Released 8 January 2001


Zoe Rahman - The Cynic

“A strong, thought-provoking debut” Independent on Sunday.

“One of the best jazz albums of the year” Straight No Chaser.

Re-issue of debut album originally released in 2001. The album features Winston Clifford on drums and Jeremy Brown on bass. All compositions and arrangements by Zoe Rahman